What Is Meant by Indian Astrology?

 Indian astrology also referred to as ‘moon astrology’ or ‘Vedic astrology’ is based on ancient Hindu scriptures called as Vedas.

Indianastrology recognizes 12 zodiac signs: Aries, Gemini, Taurus, Virgo, Leo. Cancer, Sagittarius, Libra, Scorpio, Pisces, Aquarius and Cancer.

The science developed Rashis or Moon signs to simplify astrology. Vedic astrology is based on the constellations. There exist 27 constellations or Nakshtras. Abhijeet, which is the 28thconstellation, is ignored while considering a person’s horoscope whileAbhishekhaNakshatra is the king among all Nakshatras.

According to Vedas, there are five basic elements: earth, water, fire, sky and air. These are included in study of horoscopes along with constellations and moon signs (rashis). Of these the ‘sky’ is given most importance.

Dashas refer to ‘stateof being’ and governs the state of existence of a person. There are different Dashas with their own utility and place of application. There exits, Dashas of signs (rashis) andDashas of Planets (grahas). The system of VimsottariDasa system has been considered as eminently applicable in horoscopes of the present times or Kal Yuga.


Grahas refer to the nine planets which affect the decision making of persons. When the Grahas are active in the particular Dashas, they affect the affairs of a person.

The natal chart indicates the position of Grahas, right at the time and place of birth.  Since birth, the Grahas move around the zodiac while interacting with the grahas of the natal chart. The period of interaction is referred to as Gochara (transit).

Yoga is a mix of planets, placed in particular relationship with each other. Raja yoga is associated with authority, status and fame. It combines divine blessings of goddess Laxmi and Lord Vishnu. Dhana yoga is linked to wealth giving planets such as Dhanesa.

Astrology is also called as Jyothish-‘the science of light’ in which impact of astral light patterns on human destiny is studied. Nowadays, you can access Indian astrology online.

Astrology is linked to astronomy as astrologers need to know positions of moon, stars and constellation at specific points of time. Using this information, the astrologer can create charts and make conclusions about life and destiny of a person.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s